Principal's Message All Staff List Bell Schedules Calendar 2017-2018 Map, Check-In & Parking Directions to MV Fingertip Directory MVHS Events Calendar School Documents School Profile School Site Council 2016 Running of the Bulls Info Donor Bricks Vision & Goals
Administration Art AVID Business ELD English Industrial Technology Library Math Music Physical Education Science Science Info Social Science Special Education Theatre Arts World Language
Guidance Staff College & Career Center Guidance Calendar College Resources Concurrent Enrollment Course Selection FAQ's Four-Year College Info 4 Year Planning & College Eligibility Grad. Requirements Naviance Family Connection Presentation Materials Requesting Transcripts School Resources Study Buddies Tutoring Summer Programs Work Permits
Challenge Day Marquesas Dance Team Monta Vista Clubs Student Activities Spirit Squads Verdadera Ron Freeman Purple and Gold Awards
Matador Athletics Athletic Boosters Matador of the Year
Contact Main Office Course Selection Info Parenting Class PTSA Senior All Night Party Challenge Day

ELD

2016-2017
English Language Development (ELD)
Goal: Learn the English language
Purpose: To help English learners develop English skills including listening, speaking, reading, and writing
Sheltered Classes
Goal: Learn grade-level content
Purpose: Sheltered classes offer extra language help to learn the material of the class
ELD and Sheltered Courses Offered
English Language Development:  ELD 1A, ELD 1B, ELD 2, ELD 3
English:  Literature & Writing Sheltered, World Literature Sheltered, American Literature Sheltered, Contemporary Literature Sheltered
Social Science:  World History Sheltered, US History Sheltered, US Government Sheltered, Economics Sheltered
Science:  Biology Sheltered, Chemistry Sheltered, Physics Sheltered
Connections and New Student Support
Connections:  Connections is the Bilingual Parent Group at Monta Vista High School. This group meets four times a year to provide parents with information regarding the ELD program and the supports in place for EL students. All parents and guardians of bilingual students are welcome. For more information, contact Chelsa Anderson at: chelsa_anderson@fuhsd.org

Connections Meetings
  • Monday, October 5 at 7PM in the Monta Vista Library
  • Monday, November 16 at 7PM in the Monta Vista Library
  • Thursday, February 11 at 7PM in the Monta Vista Library
  • Monday, May 2 at 7PM in the Monta Vista Student Center
Slides from Connections Meeting
New Student Support:  This club provides assistance for students new to Monta Vista. For example, translators from the group are sometimes paired up with new English Learners. To learn more, visit the New Student Support Web Page
Lindsay Stuart
lindsay_stuart@fuhsd.org
ELD Coordinator & Teacher
ELD 1A/1B
ELD 2
Vennessa Nava
vennessa_nava@fuhsd.org
ELD Teacher
(x8894)
ELD 3
Deby Muskivitch
deby_muskivitch@fuhsd.org
ELD Program
Assistant
Robyn Brostowicz
robyn_brostowicz@fuhsd.org
Social Science
(x8813)
Sheltered
World History
Stacey Cler
stacey_cler@fuhsd.org
English
(x8821)
Sheltered
World Lit
Shozo Shimazaki
shozo_shimazaki@fuhsd.org
English
(x8888)
Sheltered
Lit / Writing
Hilary Barron
hilary_barron@fuhsd.org
Social Science
(x8824)
Sheltered
Government
Pete Pelkey
pete_pelkey@fuhsd.org
Social Science
(x8814)
Sheltered
Economics